Monday, September 8, 2008
Back to School...
So, we started school today and I am really a little frightened. This is going to be an intense 4 weeks, with a lot of teaching practice. I will have to get over my fear of public speaking immediately. We have been in class since 9:30 this morning...it is now 4:30pm. I will be back at 7:30pm to observe a senior teacher giving a lesson. I couldnt sleep last night - not sure if it was just the anticipation or nerves or the mosquitos or the fact that it was 90 degrees all night long. The knot in my stomach hasnt subsided yet either. Hopefully it will before dinner tonight since we are having a class dinner to get to know the other students. Most of the other students are American. On our break Sean and I went to the market and got some fruit, which was nice. Have I mentioned yet how much I love the fruit here? Its another food highlight (there are so many). Pears are my favorite...anyway, it was still scorchingly hot outside, so it is nice to be in a cool building. When we got to class this morning, after getting lost (Sean thought he knew a short cut) the teacher gave us a test right away. As an English major, I am totally embarrassed. I can almost be sure I got none of the questions right. I have a lot to learn in the next 4 weeks...Oh, and dont think the teacher didnt call me out on having a boys name either...yes, in Italy, "Andrea" is a boys name. It goes perfectly with my middle name now...its fine. And if you dont know my middle name, its "Michael", no, not "Michelle". Thanks mom and dad for that! Anyway, I will write again soon. XOXO
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

2 comments:
Hi Guys!! Glad you made it alright! Sounds like you are having a great experience so far! That sucks about getting called out with a guys name! oh how we screw things up when we Americanize things! I hope you learn something tonight when you listen into the teacher! keep the blog going! It goes nice with my cup of tea! Good Luck and Enjoy! ` Nikki D
Ahhh, fruta fresca! Pears are my favorite too. I had a thought, if you don't pass escola, do you come home? Just kidding, that's a dad talking. I know you will kick butt and own Rome.
Chao my daughter, tell Sean hi.
Love Dad
Post a Comment